Airlines Cancel Flights Due to Nor’easter

A week after Hurricane Sandy another nor’easter storm is causing many airlines to cancel flights to the eastern United States. So far more than 1,000 flights have been canceled for Wednesday, November 7 and Thursday, November 8 to mostly to New York and Philadelphia area airports. Airlines continue to monitor the weather situation and are likely to cancel more flights if the situation worsens.

Cancelled Flights due to Nor'easter

Photo courtesy of news.blogs.cnn.com

Many airlines are offering waivers for free changes for flights flying through cities expected to be hit by the storm. If your flights are affected, our expert Travel Advisors can assist you with your options which include:

1. If your flight is canceled you have the option of obtaining a full refund.

2. If you would like to reschedule your trip, you can do so without having to pay any penalty, although in some cases you may have to pay a difference in fare if you’re changing to a more expensive itinerary.

Please use our airline travel advisory chart below to see if the airline you are flying is offering a travel waiver. For rebooking assistance, feel free to contact our Travel Advisors at (800) 243-2724 or by email at Help@CheapAir.com.

 

AirTran http://www.airtran.com/weather/default.aspx
Alaska Air http://www.alaskaair.com/content/travel-info/before-your-trip/travel-tips/travel-advisories.aspx
American http://www.aa.com/i18n/travelInformation/travelAlerts.jsp
British Airways http://www.britishairways.com/travel/flightops/public/en_us
Delta http://www.delta.com/traveling_checkin/flight_status_updates/advisories/east_coast_storm/index.jsp
Emirates http://www.emirates.com/us/english/about/operational_updates/operational_updates.aspx
Frontier http://www.flyfrontier.com/flight-info/weather
Hawaiian Airlines http://www.hawaiianairlines.com/notification/pages/east-coast-travel-alert.aspx
JetBlue http://www.jetblue.com/JetblueAlerts/WeatherUpdate.aspx
Lufthansa http://www.lufthansa.com/online/portal/lh/de/nonav/local?nodeid=1874371&l=en&cid=18002
SAS http://www.flysas.com/en/info/?NSSEXC=true&vst=true
Spirit Airlines http://www.spirit.com/Content/Documents/en-US/Press_Releases/20121026a.pdf
Southwest http://www.southwest.com/html/advisories/swa_travel_advisory_20129261351263421217.html
Sun Country http://www.suncountry.com/page/1/Waiver-for-Hurricane-Sandy.jsp
United http://www.united.com/CMS/en-US/travel/news/Pages/travelnotices.aspx
US Airways http://www.usairways.com/TravelCenter/Advisories.aspx
Virgin America http://virginamerica.com/news.do?int=news_0000_ab
Virgin Atlantic http://www.virgin-atlantic.com/gb/en/travel-information/customer-service/latest-news.html” target=”_blank”>http://www.virgin-atlantic.com/gb/en/travel-information/customer-service/latest-news.html
Westjet http://www.westjet.com/guest/en/travel/basics/security-travel-alert/travel-alert.shtml” target=”_blank”>http://www.westjet.com/guest/en/travel/basics/security-travel-alert/travel-alert.shtml

2 Comments

  1. Please let me know if i have 3 one way tickets on November 30

    • Hi Amelia,

      What is your 10 digit booking number? We can’t seem to locate a reservation with your name or e-mail address.

      -The CheapAir Team

Back to top